196 – Treasures 1974/1975


This is a set of two volumes titled “The Treasures of Mount Athos – Illuminated Manuscripts”. Volume 1 contains the Protaton and the Monasteries of Dionysiou, Koutloumousiou, Xeropotamou and Gregoriou. Volume 2 contains the Monasteries of Iveron, St. Panteleimon, Esphigmenou, and Chilandari.

The publisher is Ekdotike Athenon S. A. Volume 1 was published in 1974 and volume 2 – 1975.

The two volumes are in full sand-colored leather board with gold, red, blue and green design to the front cover and spine. There are a total of 941 color plates. Each volume is divided by monastery and has an introduction and color picture followed by plates from the manuscripts housed there. Descriptions of the illuminated manuscripts and miniature paintings at the end of each volume are printed on colored paper in burgendy ink.

Each volume measures approximately 13 3/4″ long x 10″ wide x 2″ thick.



This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply